Legislators honored with ‘Common Sense’ awards for 2021

DENVER — Colorado Civil Justice League announced winners of its  Common Sense in the Courtroom Awards, given to state legislators who have demonstrated a commitment to curtailing lawsuit abuse and protecting small business and working families from the cost of frivolous litigation.

CCJL is the only organization in Colorado exclusively dedicated to stopping lawsuit abuse while preserving a system of civil justice that fairly compensates legitimate victims.

“Common Sense in the Courtroom requires justice for those who have been harmed by someone else, balanced by fairness for those who may be wrongfully accused,” said CCJL executive director Mark Hillman.

Unfortunately, this year’s Colorado General Assembly passed several bills that will increase the costs and risks of lawsuits: expanding liability for agricultural employers (Senate Bill 87), enabling medical lien companies to hide the amounts they pay to providers for medical care (House Bill 1300), and creating additional liability risks for employers when someone is injured by an employee’s negligence (House Bill 1188).

However, state legislators also defeated a bill that would have allowed contingency fee attorneys to bring class action lawsuits under the Colorado Consumer Protection Act and another to create the nation’s most draconian definition of a “hostile work environment.”

“At CCJL, we are grateful for the bipartisan support of legislators who understand the importance of an efficient and balanced court system to our state’s economic health,” Hillman said.

Common Sense in the Courtroom Award recipients include:

Representatives Mark Baisley (Roxborough Park), Adrienne Benavidez (Commerce City), Shannon Bird (Westminster), Rod Bockenfeld (Watkins), Mary Bradfield (Colorado Springs), Terri Carver (Colorado Springs), Marc Catlin (Montrose), Speaker Alec Garnett (Denver), Tim Geitner (Peyton), Ron Hanks (Penrose), Richard Holtorf (Akron), Colin Larson (Littleton), Stephanie Luck (Penrose), Mike Lynch (Wellington), Hugh McKean (Loveland), Rod Pelton (Cheyenne Wells), Andy Pico (Colorado Springs), Kim Ranson (Douglas County), Janice Rich (Grand Junction), Shane Sandridge (Colorado Springs), Marc Snyder (Manitou Springs), Matt Soper (Delta), Kerry Tipper (Lakewood), Donald Valdez (La Jara), Tonya Van Beber (Eaton), Kevin Van Winkle (Highlands Ranch), Perry Will (New Castle), Dave Williams (Colorado Springs) and Dan Woog (Erie).

Senators John Cooke (Greeley), Rhonda Fields (Aurora), Bob Gardner (Colorado Springs), Chris Hansen (Denver), Dennis Hisey (Fountain), Chris Holbert (Parker), Larry Liston (Colorado Springs), Paul Lundeen (Monument), Kevin Priola (Brighton), Bob Rankin (Snowmass Village), Ray Scott (Grand Junction), Cleave Simpson (Alamosa), Jerry Sonnenberg (Sterling) and Rob Woodward (Loveland).

This year’s awards presentation is sponsored by American Furniture Warehouse, COPIC, Colorado Hospital Association, State Farm, Rocky Mountain Mechanical Contractors Association, Husch Blackwell, Spencer Fane and Wheeler Trigg O’Donnell.